September Reads and October Plans

I’ve been a book blogger now for over a month and it seems that a general, monthly update on readings and to-be-reads is the norm. September was a very productive month in the sense that I read a surprising number of books – 7 in total! Compared to August, when I only finished one book, the jump in enormous. But I fear that come midterm, pleasure reading will disappear from my vocabulary. However, let’s get into the wrap up.

This is what I read in September:

I mostly liked or loved what I read this month, except for the only non-fiction book (Branded). In September, I read a lot of fantasy – a genre that I loved when I was younger, but which has gradually fallen off my reading list. And October will be no stranger to fantasy either since I’ll attempt to tackle the book that has been on my book pile for a long time – A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin. The book seems massive but almost everyone I know has loved it, and I really want to know what’s with the hype. And no, I have not watched the series – please, no spoilers!

And this is what I plan to read in October:

  • A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin
  • The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain (reading for a lit course)
  • And I Don’t Want to Live This Life by Deborah Spungen
  • Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë
  • Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë (re-reading since it’s been too long)
  • Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland & Through the Looking-Glass by Lewis Carroll
  • The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

This month I’ve already read The Hunger Games trilogy, and this list might be just wishful thinking. If I manage to read all these seven books in October, I’ll bake a cake to celebrate. The last three books on the list are from Bookdepository and will arrive next week (I hope).

And since I’m not here just to talk to myself, I’d like to hear about you. What are you reading this month?

Leave a Reply

