Book haul-ish post

I’m currently reading A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin (about half-way through) but because it’s not a very quick read, I have no book reviews to post here. So I decided that since I’ve gathered a few new books I’d share them with you and call it a book haul.

2013-10-24-0160

And the books are:

  • The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
  • Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë
  • Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking-Glass by Lewis Carroll
  • The Name of the Rose by Umberto Eco (in German)
  • Alias Grace by Margaret Atwood (in German)
  • Round Ireland with a Fridge by Tony Hawks (in German)

The first three are Wordsworth classic editions from The Bookdepository that I mentioned in my earlier September wrap-up post. They arrived a few days after the post and I’ve already read and reviewed The Great Gatsby and started to read the introduction to Jane Eyre (which I read in Finnish about 4 years ago).The next three are all second-hand books that I got for free. Some lovely person donated our school a pile of German books, and naturally, I was among the first people to raid the pile.

I’ve been planning on reading The Name of the Rose because I saw the movie (1986, with Sean Connery) a while ago and because my father has been telling me that the book is much better than the film. The fact that it is in German is a bit daunting but I decided to take it anyway because I want to keep practicing my German – even if it’s only through reading. I know practically nothing about Alias Grace but I’ve heard only good things about Margaret Atwood, which made me pick up this book. And last but not least, Round Ireland with a Fridge – I mean, look at the title! I just had to pick it up, I had to. It combines Ireland, hitchhiking, and humor which to me sound like a perfect recipe for a relaxing evening with book.

There is a very high probability that this weekend will bring more books to my shelves as I’ll be attending the Helsinki Book Fair on Saturday. A whole day filled with books, authors, and discussions about books – brilliant! I’ll do a post about the Book Fair next week, hopefully with some better quality pictures than the one in this post.

Till then, have a lovely and bookish weekend!

Leave a Reply

