Review: City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare (The Mortal Instruments #2)

PAPERBACK; 453 P.
MCELDERRY BOOKS, 2009/2008
SOURCE: FROM THE LIBRARY

From Goodreads:

Clary Fray just wishes that her life would go back to normal. But what’s normal when you’re a demon-slaying Shadowhunter, your mother is in a magically induced coma, and you can suddenly see Downworlders like werewolves, vampires, and faeries? If Clary left the world of the Shadowhunters behind, it would mean more time with her best friend, Simon, who’s becoming more than a friend. But the Shadowhunting world isn’t ready to let her go — especially her handsome, infuriating, newfound brother, Jace. And Clary’s only chance to help her mother is to track down rogue Shadowhunter Valentine, who is probably insane, certainly evil — and also her father.

My review of City of Bones can be found from my old Tumblr account (which I still do update from time to time), so if you’re interested on my thought on that – go and read it first. In summary, I loved Jace and the sarcasm in the book, but I did also see its faults. I also foresaw that the sequel might present a disappointment . And unfortunately, that’s what it feels like.

City of Ashes continues about a week from where the City of Bones ends. And it seems like nothing has changed. For some this might be a positive thing – the book picks up right from where the previous ended – but for me, I had hoped for something more. As a book, City of Ashes focuses more on exploring the world of the book series. It introduces the hidden world of New York  – for example the Faerie Court and Werewolf community. We are also introduced to a werewolf girl, Maia, who presents a different perspective to the story.

I again loved the sarcasm embedded in the story. It made reading a fun experience, and I laughed out loud several times. Despite the plot being fast paced and full of action, I felt that the character development wasn’t up to par. The two main characters were naturally explored, but I had hoped that the book would present a new perspective to the characters. The side characters were left to the side, and instead of giving depth to the already introduced characters, the book introduces a number of new ones. In addition, the element of siblings pining after each other is a bit unsettling, although it was hard to picture them as brother and sister. I can’t deny that the book (and the overall series, so far) isn’t entertaining but as a reader I want more.

All in all, I’m not really sure if I liked this book or not. I gave the first book of the series 4 stars (mainly because it drew me in so completely) but City of Ashes left me unsatisfied. Still, it was an entertaining book and I will eventually be reading the third and the fourth book. The Mortal Instruments series entertains me and I’ve grown attached to the characters. It might not survive a re-read, but sometimes reading just once is enough.

3/5

“That does it,” said Jace. “I’m going to get you a dictionary for Christmas this year.”
“Why?” Isabelle said.
“So you can look up ‘fun.’ I’m not sure you know what it means.”

4 thoughts on “Review: City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare (The Mortal Instruments #2)

  1. Pingback: City of Ashes | Books and Iced Coffee

  2. Hiya! You did an awesome review and i definitely agree with you on the sarcasm. It made the storyline and the character really interesting. Although I really hoped that you had enjoyed it as much as I did. Anyways, I hope you can take some time to check out my book blog. It’s booksandicedcoffee.wordpress.com. Hope you enjoy it and please don’t forget to subscribe and follow.

    Thank you!

    • Hi!
      Thank you for your kind words! Yeah, I also hoped that I would have enjoyed the book more but I guess it just didn’t work for me. Anyways, I actually have City of Glass currently waiting on my bedside table so I’m hoping that I’ll like that one more than City of Ashes. And I’ll definitely go and check out your blog!
      Cheers! x

      • Awesome! Thanks for taking the time to visit and to subscribe 🙂 I’m reading the City of Glass myself. I’m nearly down with it 🙂 I can’t wait to hear your opinion on it.

Leave a Reply

