November Reads and December Plans

Wow, November truly flew by. With a bunch of uni work, a couple translations, and a whole lot of student events, it was sometimes hard to find time for reading. Luckily I had, however, chosen a few shorter book so that I did get to experience the satisfying feeling of finishing a book. I blogged about all the books I read, which is great, and I read books both in English and in Finnish. Overall, the books I read in November were all quite good and the average rating was 4 stars or higher.

What I read in November:

Most of the books were on my November TBR but because I went to the library in the middle of November, I did end up picking quite a few book that I just could not ignore. For example Juha Itkonen‘s novel was a spur of the moment kind of thing. On the other hand, I was supposed to read Macbeth in October but in the end finished that one on the 1st of November. All in all, I’m pretty proud of myself although I still keep avoiding Wuthering Heights. Hence, I have decided to place it back on the shelf and maybe try again next year. I just don’t want to feel like I’m forcing myself to read this book.

For the month of December, I’ve decided only to make tentative TBR. This is because the holiday season is approaching and I will be travelling a lot, meeting friends that I haven’t seen in a while, and spending time with my family. And as there is the possibility that I’ll get a few books for Christmas, I want to keep this month’s TBR fun and relaxed. However, there are still a couple library books that I definitely will be reading. So without further ado, my tentative TBR for December:

  • City of Glass by Cassandra Clare (currently-reading)
  • The Subtle Knife by Philip Pullman
  • You Had Me At Hello by Mhairi McFarlane
  • The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
  • The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

Now, confession time: I have not read TFIOS or The Book Thief. I know these two books to be very hyped up in the book blogging world at the moment and I’ve done my best to avoid being spoiled. In fact, probably the biggest reason why I have not read these books is that I don’t have them in my bookshelf. I rarely buy new books or books that I haven’t read before – my preference is to loan them from the library rather than to buy myself a copy. But that is about to change. I’ve promised myself that if I get through all my courses in December, I will go and purchase these two books as an early Christmas present for myself. I might actually order them to my local bookstore to make sure they will be in store by then.

But yeah, this will be my TBR for the end of 2013. If you have read any of the books mentioned, please leave a comment (no spoilers, please!) and tell me which one I should read first.

Leave a Reply

