Review: The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

PAPERBACK; 316 P.
PENGUIN BOOKS, 2013/2012
SOURCE: PURCHASED

Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.

What can I say about this book? Almost everyone who reads books has read this book and most of them also love it. Just peek at the Goodreads rating: an average of 4.50 stars with over 430,000 ratings. There are several great reviews of this book, and as I fear mine will not do justice to the book, I will link a few (spoiler-free) ones down below. The author John Green was one of the names that was brought to my knowledge soon after I started blogging about books, and so far I’ve only read An Abundance of Katherines which I thought was fun and exciting. I’ve been meaning to read The Fault in Our Stars for the past 6 months but since it’s highly popular in the library, I never got the chance to read it.

The story is of a 16-year-old Hazel who has a terminal cancer that has also caused her to have crappy lungs. She avoids meeting her peers and spends most of her time on alone or with her parents. The few contacts she  has are the people in Cancer Kid Support Group, whereupon she encounters Augustus Waters, a 17-year-old cancer survivor. These two soon connect and the rest is… history. The book has a lot of whitty dialogues, metaphors, and pondering on deeper questions. But it also has teen angst, video games, and drama which balanced the darker themes and made the book more realistic. The writing was grand and I just knew right after finishing it, that I would like to read it again soon. John Green has a very specific style of writing and I do think that he creates very relatable characters.

The fun thing about this book is that it’s not just a “cancer book”. Yes, it is sad and philosophical, but it’s also funny, sarcastic, and makes you want to read more. However, I did cry – a lot. I’m very happy that I bought my own copy of this book because I would not like to be forced to part with this book anytime in the near future; I still can’t quite put my head around it.

4.5/5

“Gus said, ‘This is wonderful news you want to hear,’ and I asked him, ‘Fine, what is it?’ and he said, ‘You are going to live a good and long life filled with great and terrible moments that you cannot even imagine yet!’

Here are some pretty amazing reviews on TFIOS:

2 thoughts on “Review: The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

Leave a Reply

