December Reads and January Plans

Happy New Year 2014!

December was a busy but great month. There were exams as well as translations and essays to turn in, but all the same I also managed to have some fun. I went to see The Hobbit: Desolation of Smaug (it was good) and got to spend time with my family and friends. I read 7 books in December (shocking? no.) and there were some amazing books in there;  TFIOS and The Book Thief did not disappoint, Philip Pullman’s second part in the His Dark Materials series was fantastic, and Breakfast at Tiffany’s was beautiful. I also managed to read all the books that were on my  tentative TBR along with some that weren’t.

In December I read:

For Christmas I only received one book: Päivälehden mies, the memoirs of an ex editor-in-chief of Finland’s biggest newspaper, Helsingin Sanomat. In his book, Janne Virkkunen discusses the changes in the newspaper from 1970 to today as well as some of the debates that were going on behind the scenes. I wasn’t aware that such book had been published and was thus positively surprised by it. I read Helsingin Sanomat almost daily and find newspapers and their history very interesting.

18713708        178323118130566

After Christmas I went to town to meet a few friends and ended up to a book store. There was a sale… I bet you can guess the rest. I bought Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling (I actually prefer this cover) and Katoamispiste by Joel Haahtela (which I’ve already read – review coming up!). I know that I swore not to buy any more books after my December book haul but hey, sometimes those rules need to be broken. In terms of my January TBR, I can’t really say what I’ll be reading as I can’t currently access the books I have at home nor my local library. However, I think in January I’ll read at least:

  • The Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling
  • On Beauty by Zadie Smith

Also, as you might have noticed from the side bar, I joined Twitter. Let’s see how it goes, shall we?

Leave a Reply

