Bout of Books 9.0

Image

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, January 6th and runs through Sunday, January 12th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 9.0 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog.

From the Bout of Books team

You’ve probably seen this picture and title circulating round the blogosphere lately. I was at first a bit apprehensive of joining in: The upcoming week will be busy as I’ll be returning to uni, so I’m not sure how much I’ll be able to read during that week. However, I guess I could use this read-a-thon to tackle some books that have been standing on my shelves for too long.

I’m currently in the middle of The Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling, which I hope to finish in two or three days. After that I’ll most likely pick up Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys, a book I hauled back in October. I’ve heard a lot of good things about this book and I can’t wait to finally get into it. If I also finish this one before 12th of January, I’ll start either On Beauty by Zadie Smith or Gulliver’s Travels by Jonathan Swift or Brideshead Revisited by Evelyn Waugh (can’t really decide!).

My goals for this read-a-thon are to:

  • read at least two books (and start a third one)
  • read every day
  • take part in one of the challenges/twitter chats

Yeah, that’s about it. Let me know if you’re doing the BoB 9.0, what you’re reading and which book I should choose for my third read. Happy reading!

2 thoughts on “Bout of Books 9.0

  1. I think this is a great challenge. I actually have a lot of books planned for this week, since the spring semester at my university starts next Wednesday. I am currently reading Anne of Green Gables and should finish it in a couple of days. I have a few Roald Dahl books planned as well (The Giraffe, the Pelly, and Me, The Minpins, and Esio Trot). Finally, I should be able to read Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde too since it isn’t too long. For your third read, I suggest you choose a children’s classic you have never read. For me, it was Anne of Green Gables.

    • I love Anne of Green Gables – it was one of my favourite series when I was growing up. If you like Anne, you should definitely also check out Emily of New Moon (also by L.M. Montgomery). But I think I’d like to re-read the Roald Dahl books since it’s been, like, forever. Good luck with your reading!

Leave a Reply

