Bout of Books 9.0 – Update #3

BoB9.0-200x200‘Are we there yet?’ The half-mark of the Bout of Books read-a-thon has been passed and the second to last update is here. I’ve truly managed to stick with this read-a-thon and it seems I’m going to achieve most of my goals: I’ve already finished two books (reviews will be up next week!), and read every day. However, due to some technical problems I have not been able to take part on any chats or challenges these last days. Luckily there’s still one day left!

On Friday, I had my Literature exam in the morning but as I had no classes in the afternoon, I was free to read as much as I liked. The first week of university is usually more relaxed which is good when you have a read-a-thon going on. I read about 110 pages of Between Shades of Gray during the afternoon, drinking several cups of tea along the way. It is extremely pleasant to read something that flows as easily as this story does although the topic isn’t a very nice (the oppression of Lithuanians under Stalin). I had planned to participate in one of the challenges on Friday but my computer had other plans. It has been lately very unreliable so I decided to back up my files and re-install the system. And while the computer ran it’s programs, I read some more – 70 pages to be exact. Pages read: 188

On Saturday, I spent my morning sipping tea and reading the final 75 page of Between Shades of Gray. I’m super happy that I decided to read this book because it was so emotional, beautiful and sad. I couldn’t start another book straight away, so it took until later in the afternoon that I picked up Brideshead Revisited by Evelyn Waugh. This book was gifted to me a few years ago and I’m reading it now as part of the Jazz Age January hosted by Books Speak Volumes. I’m only 17 pages in but so far it seems okay. Pages read (so far): 92

Currently reading: Brideshead Revisited by Evelyn Waugh
Books finished: 2
Pages read in total: 779
Twitter chats/challenges: 0

One thought on “Bout of Books 9.0 – Update #3

Leave a Reply

