Bout of Books 9.0 – Update #4 & Wrap-up

BoB9.0-200x200A new week is here and it is time to say goodbye to the Bout of Books 9.0. I had fun challenging myself to read more and I’m now two books ahead of my schedule in Goodreads’ 50 books reading challenge. To recap, my challenges for this Bout of Books 9.0 were to 1) read at least two books and start a third one, 2) read every day, and 3) take part in at least one of the Twitter chats and/or challenges. But first, let’s see what happened on Sunday.

Sunday was definitely my most non-reading day of the whole read-a-thon. I guess I was starting to get tired after reading laboriously the whole week, but also I think that Brideshead Revisited is the type of book where reading it quickly would spoil the fun. Thus I enjoyed a lazy Sunday brunch with the book for about 18 pages, and later in the evening I languidly mused with the characters another 19 pages. I might make slow progress with this book but it doesn’t mean that I’m not finding it interesting. Pages read: 37

On the whole, my read-a-thon went really well. I managed to read two books: Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling, which I had started a bit earlier, and Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys. Both were very enjoyable books and I intend to write reviews of them as soon as possible. I also started my third book, Brideshead Revisited by Evelyn Waugh, of which I’ve now read 54 pages. The total number of pages I read during this week was 816, and the most productive day in that sense was Friday when I read 188 pages. I managed to read every day of the week and, except on Sunday, I read about 80+ pages on an average day. However, I did fail the Twitter chat/challenge/community part of my challenge. Mostly because I had some computer issues (still working on it!), but also because in the end, it didn’t feel like something I needed. Staging books or making poetry with book spines does sound like fun but I felt like focusing more on the books themselves and the reading. I did tweet about the Bout of Books a couple of times and discovered some new blogs to follow thanks to the read-a-thon, so all hope is not lost!

Hope all of you had a lovely week and you read some awesome books!

Leave a Reply

