Library book haul

Blue Monday, no thank you. My Monday started with sunshine, a small latte from my favourite coffee shop and a walk to the library with a long list of books that I wanted to read. And there they were – sitting on the shelves, waiting for me! Perks of getting up early, I’d say. Rest of the day was nothing special; I was just waiting to get home where I could curl up with a book and a big cup of tea.  

IMG_7222

The five books that I checked out on Monday were:

  • A Doll’s House by Henrik Ibsen (Finnish translation)
  • Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier
  • Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden
  • The Amber Spyglass by Philip Pullman (last of the series!)
  • Missä kuljimme kerran by Kjell Westö (in Finnish)

I’m super excited for all of these! Especially The Amber Spyglass – the third and final book in the His Dark Materials series – which I’ve been waiting for ever since I finished The Subtle Knife. Another book that I’ve been curious about is The Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden. I saw the 2005 film when I was in upper secondary (loved it!) and my friend recommended me to also read the book. But somehow I just never got around to actually checking it out from the library and reading it.

IMG_7220

I got two books in Finnish (another is a translation from Norwegian): Missä kuljimme kerran by Kjell Westö and A Doll’s House by Henrik Ibsen. Kjell Westö is a famous and immensely popular Finnish-Swedish author here in Finland. I’ve read a few of his books but never this one, and as it is on my TBR 254, I decided to give it a go. Now, A Doll’s House is a famous play by the Norwegian playwright Henrik Ibsen that deals with women suffrage and women’s position in marriage. It was originally published in 1879 and naturally caused a stir in the society with its out of the norm ideas.

IMG_7226

And then finally, a book and an author I had never heard of until WordsofaReader talked about it on her Youtube channel. It is Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier, and just look at this cover. Wow! I’m so happy that the library has decided to purchase these editions because they are just stunning. Guilty confession: I kind of want to buy this book only because of the cover. However, the story does sound interesting although at the same time I have no idea what to expect from this book. I guess I’ll just have to wait and see?

Hope all of you had a lovely Monday, and let me know if you’ve recently checked out any books from your library and/or are planning to do so. Cheers! x

Leave a Reply

