January Reads and February Plans

Hello lovelies!

The first month of the year has past and I’m pretty proud of the pace that I’m keeping. I read 6 books in January, and I’ve started two books. I also started the new year by donating seven books to charity: mostly because I needed more space on my shelves but also because I know I won’t read those again. Hopefully someone else will enjoy them more! January has also been busy here in my blog. I participated in the Bout of Books 9.0 read-a-thon from Jan 6th to 12th and finished two books during that week. My progress can be read from these posts: 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5. Another event that I took part in was the Jazz Age January for which I read Evelyn Waugh. I still haven’t watched the BBC adaptation, though.

In January I read:

One of my New Years Resolutions was to blog at least three reviews a month, but it seems that the more I read, the more I want to share my opinions and thoughts on books. This month the only book that I didn’t blog about was Ibsen’s A Doll’s House. Not that I didn’t like it – I’d say it was 3.5/5 – but I just couldn’t articulate what went through my mind whilst reading that play. Let me just say that it challenges you to think about women and their role in a relationship.

In February I hope to read:

  • Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier (currently reading)
  • Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden (currently reading)
  • The Subtle Knife by Philip Pullman
  • Missä kuljimme kerran by Kjell Westö
  • On Beauty by Zadie Smith

At the moment my main plan is to finish the books that I checked out from the library before they are due back (that’s Feb 17th). After that I’ll just go based on my mood for reading. For the last week I’ve been struggling with school work, and making myself precise lists on what to read just feels like piling on more stress. In the end, reading is supposed to be a fun activity. However, I’m feeling intrigued by On Beauty which I hauled back in December. Hopefully I’ll get around to reading it this month.

2 thoughts on “January Reads and February Plans

  1. Congrats on a great kick off for the reading year! Few things are better than that. As for Doll’s House, it’s been recommended to me by my high school teacher a lot but I always seem to back out from buying it whenever I’m confronted by it. It’s just that I never see it around the blogsphere, so I don’t know how to approach it. It seems as though you’ve got a great list of authors lined up for February! How’s Memoirs of Geisha going so far?

    Happy reading!

    • Thank you! You’re right, it is a book that teachers and professors usually recommend but you don’t really see it that much on book blogs. If you’re considering to buy it (I lent mine from the library), I’d recommend you to get an edition that has a separate introduction. Mine didn’t have one, but I feel that it would have helped me to understand the dynamics of the play. Memoirs of a Geisha is wonderful! I’m 100 pages in and completely sucked into the story.

Leave a Reply

