My Top 5 Literary Couples

Happy Valentine’s Day!

I saw someone here in the blogoshpere list their favourite literary couples for Valentine’s, and I thought that it was a great idea. I tend to love classic romances more than contemporary ones.  As Valentine’s is all about love and romance, here are my top 5 literary couples:

♥5. Valentine Wannop & Christopher Tietjens from Parade’s End

A small confession here: I’ve not actually read Parade’s End. I saw the BBC adaptation (with Benedict Cumberbatch♥) in 2012 and I loved it. Absolutely loved it. However, I  haven’t been able to get myself a copy of this book. TV adaptations are prone to change somethings and glorify others and I might feel differently about this couple after I’ve read the book, but at the moment I think they are wonderful.

+♥5. Sophie & Howl from Howl’s Moving Castle

On the shared fifth position, Howl’s Moving Castle is also a book that I first saw and later read. I love the Hayao Miyazaki movie version of this story but I also loved the original story written by Diana Wynne Jones. I think it’s a great middle grade (?) book and the Sophie and Howl are just adorable. The small signs and gestures of love in this book make my heart warm.

♥4. Hazel Lancaster & Augustus Waters from The Fault in Our Stars

When I started to make this post, this was one of the first couples that came to mind – partly because I read and reviewed it recently, but also because the movie trailer was released a few weeks ago and it just hit home. The Fault in Our Stars is a contemporary story of two cancer survivors who fall in love. It makes you laugh and it makes you cry; it’s a rollercoaster of emotions.

♥3. Elisabeth Bennet & Mr. Darcy from Pride and Prejudice

You guessed this one would be here, didn’t you? Perhaps the most loved couple in fiction, Lizzie and Darcy just meant to be. The numerous movie versions and adaptations tell a success story of the author but also of the fact that first impressions might prove to be false. The prince charming might not be as charming on the first encounter, but there’s still a happily ever after.

♥2. Margaret Hale & John Thornton from North and South

A slightly similar story line to Pride and Prejudice, North and South also deals with prejudices. Margaret Hale is an independent woman, yet bound by the conventions that she has grown up with. John Thornton on the other hand is a wealthy mill owner, seeing these old conventions as a hindrance for development. In the end, both come to realise that the other isn’t necessarily wrong. What makes this couple climb higher than previous is the social commentary that is intertwined to their love story.

♥1. Anne Elliot & Frederick Wentworth from Persuasion

Persuasion, Jane Austen’s last complete novel, has for long been my favourite of her works. The story of forgiveness and everlasting love, it tells of Anne Elliot (played by Sally Hawkins in the 2007 adaptation) who broke of her engagement with Frederick Wentworth due to persuasion from an old friend. Now, 8 years later, Wentworth returns to England and while his position has risen, the Elliot family is almost bankrupt. The two meet again through mutual friends and … the rest you have to read yourself! This book warms my hear every time and I can’t even count how many time’s I’ve read it.

One thought on “My Top 5 Literary Couples

Leave a Reply

