February Reads and March Plans

February – the shortest month of the year, but also my favourite month. It’s the month of my birthday and usually the time when, instead of constant darkness, the sun breaks though and all is bright and white. However, this year February was clouded by two bouts of cold along with stress from university and student organisation duties. Nevertheless, I had a fairly good reading month with 6 books that rated on average 4/5 stars. I’m actually surprised by how much I read as many of the books this month were almost 500 pages. Blogwise the month was pretty quiet and I ended up posting only 3 reviews along with a Valentine’s post of Top 5 Literary Couples.

Books read in February:

During my first bout of cold, I was reading Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier. The book, however, required too much thought and energy so I ended up putting it aside. Instead, I read Hipster Hitler, a comic my boyfriend had bought in Berlin last year. I read it in German which added an extra flair to the text and although some of the jokes were lost on me, there were some pretty funny ones. I read it in one day and gave it 3/5 stars in Goodreads.

After that, I continued reading Rebecca and finished it a couple days later. I very much enjoyed the book and the story, but it didn’t hold my attention as much as it could have. I found the narrator odd and occasionally annoying, but in the end I read the last 100 pages in one sitting. The afterword opened my eyes to another perspective on the story and left me pondering on the importance of introductions and afterwords when reading classics. 4/5 stars.

My birthday was in the beginning of the month, but it was only at the end of February that I received my bookish present – the box set of all the (published) A Song of Ice and Fire books. It’s something I had been considering to buy and I’m overjoyed to finally have it. However, I don’t know when I’ll get started on the second book The Clash of Kings as it is 969 pages.

Books on my March TBR:

  • Forty Years On and Other Plays by Alan Bennett (currently-reading)
  • On Beauty by Zadie Smith
  • Mrs. Dalloway by Virginia Woolf
  • Missä kuljimme kerran by Kjell Westö (Finnish)
  • Troll: A Love Story by Johanna Sinisalo
  • The Egyptian by Mika Waltari (This book is a beast, though)

In February, I also started using Literally which is a new site for readers. It’s a bit similar to Goodreads and still a beta version, but it seems really fun and I’m liking it very much. So if anyone of you is using Literally, feel free to add me: www.literally.io/u/bookarino To join, you need an invite code – I have two extra, so leave a comment if you’re interested.

Cheers! x

Leave a Reply

