Liebster Award

Liebster-Award-300x300

I was nominated for this award by Heather from Cook’s Reviews. The Liebster Award is to recognize fellow bloggers and to help others discover new blogs. I’ve seen this award in other blogs but I never thought it might someday be my turn, haha. I’m feel very honored.

The Rules:

  1. Thank the blogger that nominated you and link back to their blog.
  2. Display the award somewhere on your blog.
  3. List 11 facts about yourself.
  4. Answer 11 questions chosen by the blogger that nominated you.
  5. Come up with 11 new questions to ask your nominees.
  6. Nominate 5-11 blogs that you think deserve the award and who have less than 1,000 followers. (You may nominate blogs that have already received the award, but you cannot renominate the blog that nominated you.)
  7. Go to their blog and inform them that they’ve been nominated.

11 Facts about me

  • I used to hate coffee. My family drinks mostly tea, and I drank coffee only out of courtesy. I guess the turning point was the summer before university when I worked in a cafe and my co-worker used to make me amazing coffee drinks when we weren’t busy.
  • I have a younger brother. He reads mostly fantasy and science fiction, and was the one who introduced me to Hitchhiker’s Guide to Galaxy.
  • I’m not a good cook. I enjoy baking but when it comes to cooking, I become lazy and mostly just make the same dishes again and again.
  • I’m ovo-lacto vegetarian which means I don’t eat animal products, dairy and eggs notwithstanding.
  • I’m quite shy in front of strangers and prefer to listen instead of talk.
  • I’ve always been good at languages. I started studying English when I was 10, German when I was 12 and Swedish when I was 14.
  • I’ve been on an InterRail twice and I absolutely love it. The first was in 2007 and the second in 2012. I love to travel by train and see the changing scenery, the infinite possibilities in choosing the route, and the freedom.
  • I hate to disappoint people.
  • Besides reading books, I love to read newspapers. I enjoy the small details of layout and style. Every time I travel abroad, I buy at least one newspaper and read it cover to cover.
  • When I was a kid, I dreamed of becoming a ballet dancer. However, I’ve never been to a ballet class.
  • My favourite composers are Pyotr Tchaikovsky, Joe Hisaishi, Yann Tiersen and Alexandre Desplat.

11 Questions from Heather

    1. What made you start blogging?
    I discovered Goodreads in April 2013 and it inspired me to keep track of what I was reading. Soon enough, I was reading more and more each month and feeling the need to write down and share my thoughts on the books. I started my blog in Tumblr but soon felt that it wasn’t the right platform for me. Switching to WordPress, I’ve discovered several amazing blogs and bloggers, and couldn’t be any happier.
    2. Which book (books) has been the most influential in your life?
    This is a hard question. There have been so many books that have changed me, and in different stages of my life. To name a few: Anne of Green Gables by L. M. Montgomery, Iiris rukka by Anni Swan (Finnish juvenile fiction from 1916), the Mirkka series by Tuija Lehtinen (also Finnish juvenile fiction, 1987-1996).
    3. If you could only choose one, who would your favorite book character be? Why?
    Hmm.. this is almost as bad as the previous one. I guess my favourite character would be Elizabeth Bennet. Despite her prejudice, she is witty and clever and has inspired several heroines. I admire her braveness.
    4. What is your favorite book series?/What is your favorite standalone?
    I think my favourite book series must be either the Harry Potter series (quite obvious, isn’t it?) or the Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy series (Funniest. Ever). I’ve been reading a lot of standalones lately, but my all-time favourite is North and South by Elisabeth Gaskell.
    5. If you were stranded on a deserted island, what 5 books would you need to survive?
    North and South by Elisabeth Gaskell (favourite), Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy (TBR), David Copperfield by Charles Dickens (TBR), Oxford, Advanced Learner’s Dictionary (weapon), The Bible.
    6. Do you prefer buying your books in stores or online?
    Store. I like to feel the book and read parts of it in store. And the fact that you can dive in immediately after paying for it.
    7. How do you choose to organize your bookshelf (by genre/author/size/color/etc.)?
    By colour and genre. I have dictionaries and academic journals on one shelf, classics on the other, big hardbacks on the third, etc. With in a shelf, the books are organized by colour.
    8. If you could have dinner with any author, who would it be and why?
    I guess this also includes authors that have already passed away? In that case, my choice would be J.R.R. Tolkien. I’d love to hear him explain how he built the Middle Earth and the Elvish language. The dinner would ultimately take place in The Eagle and Child in Oxford 🙂
    9. What is your favorite genre?
    Classics.
    10. What is your least favorite cliche?
    Insta-love. It just… ugh. I can deal with it if the story is well-written, but otherwise it’s a definite no-no.
    11. Do you enjoy background noise while you read or do you need silence?
    It depends. I like to read in coffee shops, but I find it hard to read when the television is on (especially if the language in the broadcast and the book are not the same).

11 Questions to nominees

  1. What are you reading right now?
  2. How do you choose the books that you read? Based on recommendation/review/cover/etc?
  3. How would you describe yourself as a reader?
  4. What is the book that you recommend to people most often?
  5. Do you have any genres that you hate/dislike?
  6. If you were stranded on a deserted island, what 5 books would you need to survive?
  7. What was the last translated book that you read?
  8. Do you have a specific place where you read?
  9. What would you be doing if you weren’t reading?
  10. Which book (books) has influenced you the most?
  11. Do you sometimes fake that you’ve read a book that you actually haven’t?

My nominees

8 thoughts on “Liebster Award

  1. Thanks a lot for the nomination! 😀
    When I had just begun blogging,I received many nominations and nominated many people many times.So I will skip the nomination part if you don’t mind.On the other hand I love awards because they let bloggers bond with one another and it’s always great to learn some facts about someone who live in a remote country – in your case,Finland,WOW- and who share a different culture! By the way,I appreciate that you like my blog and I hope it’s no bogus! 😉

    Now for the 11 facts: (brace yourself this is going to be a quite long post!)

    1.I am from Mauritius,a tiny island,barely perceptible on a globe,which has some of the world’s
    best beaches.But no,it’s not paradise here.
    2.I’m very fond of the field of statistics and I’m always amazed by what we can calculate with
    numbers alone!
    3.Right now,one of my wish is to get accepted in at least one of the American universities I’ve
    applied to.
    4.I love art,regardless of the way in which it is expressed:it could be in
    plays,movies,books,paintings,dancing,etc.
    5.Personal growth is one of my goals in life.
    6.I can speak and write only in French and English,because in my country it is pretty easy to learn
    these two.
    7.I’m a huge fan of Man Utd and I hope they will get back to winning ways soon.
    8.I am an atheist but I value morality and ethics enormously.
    9.I’m only 5’5.It doesn’t matter if I am short,but people often reminds me of my height.So it might
    be worth mentioning.
    10.I love photography and wish I could go out so as to take better pics.I also wish I had enough
    money to buy better equipment.
    11.I don’t drink nor do I smoke! I don’t want to lose control and cringe at the thought of ever
    having very black lungs.

    And the 11 questions answered!

    1.What are you reading right now?
    Anna Karenina

    2.How do you choose the books that you read? Based on recommendation/review/cover/etc?
    I look at the storyline and check its rating and reviews on goodreads.

    3.How would you describe yourself as a reader?
    I want myself to be a representation of all the books I read,so I always pay attention to the
    techniques,words and structures used by the author.As a result I’m a slow reader but I don’t
    read for the sake of reading.It’s almost as if I savour a book and its words.

    4.What is the book that you recommend to people most often?
    Although I love many other books,I encourage people to read The God of Small Things and
    The Picture of Dorian Gray,because they are rather unknown to bibliophiles.

    5.Do you have any genres that you hate/dislike?
    Hmm,maybe those predictable romantic novels written for the teenage reader.

    6.If you were stranded on a deserted island, what 5 books would you need to survive?
    Hmm,to survive? Life of Pi, The Campaigns of Napoleon,and that’s about it,as far as survival is
    concerned!

    7.What was the last translated book that you read?
    The last translated book I read was Franz Kafka’s The Castle.I am also currently reading Anna
    Karenina by Tolstoy.Both books are translated in English.

    8.Do you have a specific place where you read?
    I used to sit on a sofa and read,but recently I found a more comfortable way to read books.I go
    into my parents’ room,sit on the bed,switch on the air conditioner and start reading!

    9.What would you be doing if you weren’t reading?
    Maybe like most youngsters of my country,I would be wasting my time posting silly things on
    Facebook and letting everybody know everything about my life.

    10.Which book (books) has influenced you the most?
    Perhaps Kafka’s The Trial and even his ‘The Castle’. Both are so relevant to today’s
    world…that you can’t help but state the obvious: the man was truly ahead of his time and didn’t
    only write about bizarre and seemingly meaningless themes.

    11.Do you sometimes fake that you’ve read a book that you actually haven’t?
    NEVER! I don’t see the point in doing that and I hate it when people do so.Without feeling
    inferior or whatsoever,I can say that I haven’t yet read any of Dickens’s novel nor those of the
    Bronte sisters and Jane Austen.I still have many classics to read.

    I would like to reiterate that I’m very thankful for this award.I also do love your blog very much as its theme is very similar to that of my blog.Be assured that your posts will always have at least one fond reader. 🙂

    Btw: I hope you don’t mind my commenting here itself! And I too love Joe Hisaishi and Yann Tiersen! They are geniuses who express art with music ! 😉

    • Thank you for you answer! Don’t worry, I understand your reasons. And yes, it’s great to learn about people that live in different parts of the world – I’d never thought I’d have a reader/fellow blogger from Mauritius. Fingers crossed that your university application goes through!

      • Thank you! 😀
        I am sorry for the messy comment.I intended to write it as neatly as possible but was shocked upon seeing how it turned out! My apologies once again.

  2. Thank you for nominating me for the award. I will fulfill the award requirements soon. I will nominate 3 not 5 people however. Just a personal preference. I too enjoy reading your blog. I am so jealous of the number of languages you know. I only know 2.

  3. Thank you so much for nominating my blog for a Liebster award! 🙂
    I will will write a post very soon. It’s so interesting that you have learnt so many languages! I am also a vegetarian! *Veggie high-five*.

  4. Pingback: Liebster Award | Exploring Classics

  5. Great answers! That’s awesome about the languages. I wish I would have learned another language at an early age. Trying to learn Spanish in high school and college was a bit of a struggle. I feel the same way about insta-love. I’m not a big fan of it because it seems too easy and a bit unrealistic.

Leave a Reply

