March Reads and April Plans

For me March is usually a busy study month, although nowhere near as busy as April. *shudder*. Thus it’s surprising that I managed to read 6 books in March! The books are again a mixture of genres: play, Finnish sci-fi, classics, young adult and adult fiction. And that’s how I like it. I usually find it hard to stick to one genre and I feel that reading diversely also helps me in understanding different types of books. In addition, I tend to discover some intertextuality between different genres which gives a much richer reading experience.

In March I posted 5 book reviews and one book haul. I was also awarded with the Liebster award, so if you want to read some random facts about me, go read that post.

The books I read in March:

I began my month with Forty Years On (by one of my favourite playwrights!) and enjoyed it very much. The book was a collection of three plays, all written in Bennett’s early years of play-writing. I loved the intertextuality and levels in Forty Years On (a play within a play), and laughed uncontrollably with Habeas Corpus. However, it didn’t quite reach the same level as The Uncommon Reader. 4/5 stars.

I started reading On Beauty right after Mrs. Dalloway, but for some reason I could not get myself into the story. I had read the first 120 pages when I did an impromptu visit to the library and returned home with three books, one of which I started to read immediately. However, I was determined to read this book in March – it’s been standing on my shelf since December – so I picked it up again and pushed through. I’m not saying that it is a bad book or that is it very boring – I just couldn’t immerse myself in the story. Zadie Smith does a great job in writing realistic characters that you instantly recognize. The book is a homage to Forster’s Howard’s End, a book that I haven’t read yet. Personally I feel that the plot in this book was secondary to the characters, which led to the fact that there was, in fact, too much going on. Nevertheless, I give the book 3.5/5 stars.

The books I plan to read in April:

  • A Clash of Kings by George R.R. Martin (currently-reading)
  • Round Ireland with a Fridge by Tony Hawks
  • Siddharta by Hermann Hesse
  • This is the Water by Yannick Murphy (ARC)
  • Sculptor’s Daughter by Tove Jansson

My April TBR consists of 5 books, but I can’t even think of adding another book due to the length of A Clash of Kings. I’m currently half-way through the first season and I want to read the book before continuing with the tv series. Needless to say, I will be behind when the 4th season begins but with my current pace of reading, I’ll probably finish the Dance with Dragons by the time Winds of Winter comes out.

After ACoK, I have a few library books to read – Siddharta by Hermann Hesse is a book that people say that they read in their twenties (check!) and that had an impact on their view of life. I don’t know much about the premise, except that it is a young man’s spiritual journey. Another library book for April is Sculptor’s Daughter by Tove Jansson –  the next book in my Tove100 challenge. In the beginning of March I requested This Is Water for review and received an e-copy. The book doesn’t come out until 29th of July but I plan to read it soon and get my review underway. And the final book in my TBR, Round Ireland with a Fridge, was actually mentioned in the vlogbrothers’ 18 Great Books You Probably Haven’t Read video. I picked this up back in November and as it is the German translation, I’ve been a bit hesitant to pick it up. However, it sounds like a fun read and I need to practice my German because I’ll be heading to Berlin in May – YAY!

Happy reading! x

3 thoughts on “March Reads and April Plans

  1. I know nothing about Finnish authors,except that two of them received the Nobel Prize in Literature.I know that the one who got it first supposedly pressured,many years later,the Nobel panel to make a stand against Soviet violence by awarding the Prize to another Finnish author – Russia was invading Finland at that time.

    There are some books in your list for April that I’ve been meaning to read for quite a long time.I have so many books on my shelves that I cannot disrupt my reading schedule by reading Siddharta,so I’ll wait for your review impatiently! I recall seeing Round Ireland With a Fridge in a list,but I don’t remember what it was all about.That’s why I ‘liked’ when you listed it as ‘want to read’ on Goodreads.I bet it’ll be great.
    As for The Clash of Kings,is it as good as everybody says it is? Or is it all down to the craze around it?

    I’ll be looking forward to seeing what you think of all these books! 🙂
    Happy reading until then!

    • There’s actually only one Finnish author who has received the Nobel Prize in Literature – F.E. Sillanpää in 1939. And, as you said, it is believed that the prize was a stand against the Soviet invasion. However, there are some authors whose work has been widely distributed and translated: Sofi Oksanen, Tove Jansson, Arto Paasilinna, Mika Waltari, etc. Perhaps I should do a Who’s Who Finnish authors post?
      As for the The Clash of Kings, I’m now about 200 pages in and very much enjoying it. There is a lot of hype around the series at the moment, but if you in general enjoy high fantasy, you should give it a go.

      • My mistake! Here’s the full story.The 81-year-old Selma Lagerlof pressured the Nobel Panel to give the prize to Finnish author F.E.Sillanpaa as a stand against the Soviet invasion.She even gave her own Nobel medal to the Finnish people to be melted down.I got things a little mixed up,believing she was Finnish too! 🙂
        It is pretty easy to remember as it was the year during which Fitzgerald and Woolf were snubbed.

        And yeah,it would be interesting to know more about Finnish authors! 🙂

Leave a Reply

