April Reads and May Plans

April. Also known as The Month of Reading A Clash Of Kings. Besides studying, meetings, dissertation writing, and editing for a magazine, there was not much time left for reading. I read 3 books in April which is a bit sad, but that’s life. I knew I would be busy with other things, so my main goal was to simply finish reading ACoK. Nevertheless, I enjoyed all of my reads this month. Siddharta was refreshing and thought-provoking, A Clash of Kings had mystery, murder and action, and Sculptor’s Daughter was a childhood memoir filled with description of everyday life and coloured by the vivid imagination of a child.

Books read in March:

The two books that I’m currently reading are both from my April TBR. This is the Water is an ARC, and so far I like Murphy’s writing style very much. However, I’ve never read an e-book and since it’s tied to my laptop, the reading experience is a bit strange – when reading from the screen, I tend to browse instead of reading every word. Nevertheless, I’m beginning to get used to the different form and hopefully I’ll get time to finish this book soon.

The other book that I’m reading is Round Ireland with a Fridge which is a true story about a bet and a young British comedian who decides to hitchhike round the coast of Ireland in 30 days – with a fridge, of course. The writing is clever and funny, filled with small anecdotes and funny stories making this book a pleasure to read. Once I have more time to read, I’ll probably finish this book quite quickly.

Books I plan to read in May:

  • Round Ireland with a Fridge by Tony Hawks (currently-reading)
  • This is the Water by Yannick Murphy (currently-reading)
  • The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides
  • The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde

Despite not having much time for bookish things, I did manage to squeeze in a quick trip to the library and a book swap event in April. The library visit brought to my nightstand The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides – a book that I have heard nothing but good things about. In the middle of the month, one of the societies at the university organised a book swap event where you could exchange your old book to another. I love these type of events because, besides getting new books almost for free, you get to meet other readers and discuss about their thoughts on the books that they have brought. In the end, I adopted a translated copy of The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde. The translation is a fairly recent one and done by one of my favourite Finnish translators, so I’m really looking forward to reading this classic in May.

At the moment, I’m not feeling very competitive, so I’ll keep my May TBR short. Should I have more time for reading, I’ll visit the local library and then do a quick library haul post to show what I got. I hope you all had a great April and read some good books!

2 thoughts on “April Reads and May Plans

  1. The movie version of Virgin Suicides is among the best movies I’ve ever seen.I wonder if the book is as great!
    Hmm,as for The Picture of Dorian Gray,I would have suggested that you read it in English,because the words Wilde picked for this novel are superb.It is among my top 5 favorite books,and I think you’ll love it! The techniques,words,storyline and dialogues are unforgettable!

    • I was also a bit hesitant about the translation, but the opportunity was too good to pass. I hope that I’ll enjoy The Picture of Dorian Gray as much as everyone else has! 🙂

Leave a Reply

