May Reads and June Plans

Dear May,

Despite all the craziness, last-minute cramming, essay panics and deadlines, you were pretty awesome. Or perhaps it was just the thought of the approaching summer that kept me positive in these past weeks. I read 5 books in May, and enjoyed all of them very much. Especially The Picture of Dorian Gray which I found to be utterly brilliant. My mid-May trip to Berlin made some changes to my TBR as I found The Curious Incident of the Dog In the Night-time from a second-hand bookshop and just had to start reading it immediately. Beside the sight-seeing in Berlin, I visited a few book shops and I was surprised on how cheap the books were compared to Finland. However, as my bookshelves already host many unread books, I had to limit my book buying considerably. In the end, I brought back only three books which I will present in a haul later.

Besides Dorian Gray’s shady 19th century London, my reading adventures took me also to space with the first two books in William Shakespeare’s Star Wars series. As I explained in my reviews, I’ve not seen all of the movies and thus I’m not as familiar with the story as I could be (well, beside the plot twists that are common knowledge). However, I do adore Shakespearean lit, so these books were the perfect way to get into the world of Jedis and other space travelers.

What I read in May:

The one book that I did not review in May was The Curious Incident of the Dog In the Night-time by Mark Haddon. It was an interesting book, told from the perspective of an autistic 15-year-old boy who tries to solve the mystery of the death of his neighbour’s dog. I read a chapter of this book back in upper secondary, but thought then that it just wasn’t my cup of tea. The style is very particular and though I’m not fan of how the ending was tied together, I really enjoyed this book (4/5 stars). The book was recently adapted into a play, and the play has been added as part of the new GCSE requirements. (The discussion about the “Gove” reform has been interesting to follow and though I approve of adding modern playwrights such as Bennett and Stephens’ to the list, the complete shunning of American literature seems shortsighted to me.)

What I plan to read in June:

  • The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides (currently-reading)
  • Round Ireland with a Fridge by Tony Hawks (currently-reading)
  • ???

I honestly have no idea what to read in June. Besides the ones that I’m currently reading, I haven’t really thought about my summer readings. I’ll probably end up tackling one of the bigger classics, such as The Egyptian by Mika Waltari or Middlemarch by T.S. Eliot. I’ll be visiting the library soon, so we’ll see what I pick up from there. But first, I have few books to finish: Hawks’ book has been standing untouched on my nightstand for a while now, and I hope to finally finish it in June. The book is funny and full of little stories, but I guess the language (German) is slowing me down. I’m also currently in the middle of The Virgin Suicides which is simply wonderful and so beautifully written that I don’t want it to ever end.

2 thoughts on “May Reads and June Plans

    • Thanks for the tip! 🙂 Since I missed BoB 10.0, a read-along might just be the thing for me. And since Moby-Dick is on my TBR, all I need to do now is get a copy from the library.
      I hope you enjoy The Picture of Dorian Gray!

Leave a Reply

