Moby-Dick: A Whale of a Read-Along!

Image

From the kind suggestion of Fariba from Exploring classics, I decided to tackle one of the big classics of American literature: Moby-Dick by Herman Melville. I was bummed to miss Bout of Books 10.0 in May, so taking part in a read-along in June sounds like the perfect antidote to this. The read-along is hosted by Roof Beam ReaderΒ and it takes place from June 1st to July 15th. The average page count for each day is thus 15 pages, which is very doable. I’m already a bit behind because I haven’t still finished The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides, but I’ll try to catch up soon. I don’t know yet if I’ll do any update posts on this book, but I’ll try to participate in the discussions and Twitter chats.

4 thoughts on “Moby-Dick: A Whale of a Read-Along!

  1. Moby Dick!
    There are some really beautiful passages in it,and the Biblical allusions written in marine terms are superb…
    Then,there are those digressions which ruined everything for me..
    It’ll be great to know what you think of the book once you’re done reading it! πŸ™‚

  2. Thank you for your comments! It is a slightly daunting book, so I’ll do my best to stick to it in June and July. And if all goes well, there will be a review at the end of the read-along πŸ™‚

  3. Pingback: Review: Moby-Dick, or The Whale by Herman Melville | Dawn of books

Leave a Reply

