World Cup of Literature

Hi guys!

 ©Penguin Publishing

This is a completely unplanned, spur of the moment post so bare with me, okay? As most of you know, today is the beginning of the 2014 World Cup. I am not a huge fan of football/soccer, so nothing special there. However, I saw Penguin tweet that they had set up a Penguin Cup where “16 of the world’s literary giant battle it out for supremacy”. To put it in a nutshell, they have formed national teams out of famous authors.

For example England’s team has Agatha Christie, J.K. Rowling and George Orwell up front, whereas Germany has Nietsche, Kafka and Marx. It’s all quite hilarious, and I thought I’d share it with you since it me at least me smile. In addition, it is also interesting to see the line up for non-European countries, because I know less about their literary traditions. For me, Brazil, Colombia and Australia feature a lot of names that I haven’t heard, which is great because it helps me to discover new authors!

I hope you check it out, and enjoy it as much as I did! Also, let me know in the comments which is your favourite team! (Mine’s England, no surprise.)

Cheers! x

3 thoughts on “World Cup of Literature

  1. That’s funny indeed! 😀

    I checked the teams and it was great to find out what position the authors were put in! For instance I like how Borges is the striker for Argentina! And funnier still are the lines in the breaking news banner:

    ”Coach Beckett confirms that the match won’t start until Godot arrives!”
    ”Joyce is giving a pre-match inuendo that will last for month!”
    ”Kafka and Freud change citizenship to play for Germany!”
    ”Byatt claims possession, Doyle tackles but lacks the commitment, Dickens scores to justify great expectations” Nice puns!

    As for the teams,England looks very terrifying,from the goalkeeper to the striker! But it will have to reckon with France,Germany and Russia!
    Greece’s team is particularly striking as it consists of ageing players,such as Homer,Sophocles and Plato among others! The little extracts describing the teams’ strengths and weaknesses are a joy to read!

    It’s hard to make a choice,but I think I will go for Russia,which has Chekhov,the best short-story teller,Tolstoy and Dostoevsky,widely regarded as the best authors ever,and Nabokov and Bulgakov,authors of two classic masterpieces!

    Thanks a lot for sharing this link! 🙂
    It totally made my day and I had much fun discovering the teams’ respective selections,weaknesses and strengths!

    • Thank you for your comment! 🙂 The puns were definitely one of the best features on the page, and I cracked up especially with the fourth one. I agree that Russia also has a winner team. I can’t wait to see how the game progresses!

Leave a Reply

