Tove100 Update

tove100 In the beginning of this year I stated that besides reading 50 books in 2014, I’ll try to read at least 4 adult books written by Tove Jansson. 2014 marks the 100th year anniversary of this Finnish-Swedish author and artist, and many bloggers have been celebrating this through reading her books and visiting exhibitions.  Looking back at this post, I’m currently half-way through the challenge. I’ve read two short story collections by Tove Jansson: The Summer Book and Sculptor’s Daughter, and I have one book ready for July.

So far the challenge has been great: I’m in schedule, I’ve enjoyed reading Jansson’s work and I want to read more. I adored The Summer Book, and I believe it will be a book that I’ll keep re-reading indefinitely. Sculptor’s Daughter didn’t quite live up to the expectation, but for a debut novel it is a solid short story collection. I recently noticed that I’ve read mostly books from her post-Moomin era, so for the last two books, I hope to go further and see how her style has developed and if there are changes.

Anyways, this was just a short update on my year-long reading project. Let me know in the comments if you’ve read any Tove Jansson this year and what you thought of it! Also, check out the official Tove100 website for more info about the author and some cool events that are happening around the globe.

Cheers! x

2 thoughts on “Tove100 Update

  1. I saw Tove Jansson’s The Listener among the ‘picks’ of bookdespository.
    It instantly reminded me of you and your good words about Janssonn! 🙂
    I think I will buy it soon,as the stories look very interesting and very original!

Leave a Reply

