June Reads and July Plans

Hello readers!

After a few busy spring months, it seems I’ve found refuge in reading – not that I’m complaining. I read a total of 8 books in June which is just crazy. Granted, I’ve had more time to read and most of the books were under 300 pages, but still – 8 books! In June, I took part in the Blogistania 24h readathon which was awesome. I had a blast racing against time and interacting with other participants through Twitter, and I hope that I’ll be able to do it again in July. I also announced that I’m taking part in the Moby-Dick read-along in June and July. I’m very much behind, but if you want to see how others have progressed, I suggest you go check out Alex’s post in Roof Beam Reader.

In June, I also posted about the Penguin Cup and about my progress in my Tove100 challenge. I also got nominated twice for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award, which I’m very grateful for. I’ll try to write that post as soon as I can. Otherwise my month included a bit of traveling, a lot of fun times with friends, eating ice cream outside, and enjoying the summery feeling – even though the weather hasn’t been that warm.

Books read in June:

June saw me read two Finnish books that fall under the ‘chick-lit’ category. Once upon a time I was a rather avid reader of this genre, but today books of this genre tend to end up being disappointments. For long, Lehtinen has been my go-to author for entertaining, not-too-serious type of reading and I devoured many of her young adult books as a teenager. I enjoy her sense of humour and style of writing as well as the detail of research she does to construct a variety of characters with different backgrounds. However, her latest releases have fallen below her normal level, and whilst reading, I found myself skipping a few paragraphs here and there. I guess I’m out-growing her books, and it’s time to take some distance. I rated both Suklaapolkuja and Tuhansien aamujen talo 2/5.

I also finally finished Round Ireland with a Fridge by Tony Hawks. The book is based on his own adventure in 1997, which starts with a drunken bet that he can hitchhike round Ireland in 30 days – with a fridge. I started reading this back in April and read most of it during May, but got distracted after the trip to Berlin. So after reading the two above-mentioned books, and not feeling like picking up Moby-Dick, I ended up finishing this one. And it was funny. I enjoyed it, but it didn’t rock my world. At times it tended to go off tangent in the description of some of the sights, and towards the end, the writing started to feel a bit rushed. However, if you ever want to travel to Ireland or just read what it was like the 90’s, then this might be your book. 3/5 stars

Books I plan to read in July:

  • Moby-Dick by Herman Melville (currently-reading)
  • The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini
  • Tess of the d’Urbervilles by Thomas Hardy
  • The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood
  • The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith
  • Pikku Pietarin Piha by Aapeli (Finnish)
  • Letters from Klara and Other Stories by Tove Jansson
  • As White As Snow by Salla Simukka

Due to the huge amount of books that I read in June, I decided not to limit my TBR list. We’ll see how many of these I’ll eventually get through. The Moby-Dick read-along continues until July 15th, and since I haven’t so far posted about my thoughts, here goes: Moby-Dick is epic. Besides being a great adventure across wild seas, it is also Melville’s collection of short essays discussing sex, race, religion, privilege, etc. These are interwoven into the story along with references to the Bible, which makes this a book that requires a lot of thought. I might not finish this in time with the read-along, but I will do it by the end of summer.

My TBR contains 7 other books, one of them being Tess of d’Urbervilles which I picked up in Berlin. After that I have The Kite Runner which everyone is recommending. My latest library visit brought me two books which I’m very excited about: The Cuckoo’s Calling because JKR, and The Handmaid’s Tale which many people have read and loved. I’ve also added some Finnish fiction to the list, because I’ve been slacking on that front. Pikku Pietarin Piha (eng. Little Peter’s Yard) is a collection of causeries that examines the lives of the people from the eyes of a small boy. Letters from Klara and Other Stories will be the third book in my Tove100 challenge. And finally, the second part in the Snow White trilogy, As White As Snow by Salla Simukka. If anyone is wondering: yes, I’m reading them in Finnish, and no, I’m not sure if that will be the translated title.

That’s it for now. Let me know if you’ve read any of these books, or if you have suggestions on which TBR book I should start with. Happy reading!

3 thoughts on “June Reads and July Plans

  1. It’ll be really interesting to read what you think of these books.
    The Handmaid’s Tale is on my wish list and I plan to buy it in Folio edition.The only problem is that it has not yet gone on sale!
    I reckon that it’ll be a very good read.

    I have never read anything from Thomas Hardy,but many enthusiasts of his works say I should.In their preaching,Tess of the d’Urbervilles is often cited!
    I’m also curious about The Kite Runner.I wonder if it’ll be much like Coelho’s The Alchemist.
    As always it’ll be with great pleasure to read your thoughts on one of Tove Jansson’s works. 🙂

    • Thank you for your comment! Tess is also my first Thomas Hardy book, but I’ve heard someone joke that he is the “Dickens of the fields”. I’ll have to see if there’s any truth in that 🙂

  2. That is quite an achievement, congratulations ;). 8 books in a month!
    Touring Ireland with a fridge, what an original idea… Shame that you didn’t enjoy it as much as you thought you would though. Among the books you are planning to read in July, I have read The Cuckoo’s Calling — which I loved —, and The Handmaid’s Tale — which I liked and studied this year. Tess of the d’Urbervilles is also in my TBR, but I’m a bit afraid to pick it up since it has the reputation of being a tear-jerker. The same goes for The Kite Runner… I can only wish you a happy reading month then ;).

Leave a Reply

