May-July Book Haul

Hello, dear readers!

It has been a while since my last book haul. Life’s been busy and thus there has not been a lot of time or money for book shopping. However, I’ve managed to collect 7 books in the span of about 2 months which, to be fair, is quite a number. This means I have been buying 1.14 books per week – and with this pace I would buy 59.4 books a year. Yikes. Luckily for me (and my bank account), my book buying tends to happen in small spurts. Below you’ll see a small overview of the books I’m going to show in this post.

IMG_7323 IMG_7401

The first three books were bought during my trip to Berlin. The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time and Tess of d’Urbervilles were found from a quaint little English bookshop/library called Another Country. I also saw Patrick Ness’ The Knife of Never Letting Go on the shelves, but unfortunately it was for library use only. Soul Kitchen I picked up from a used books street vendor – of which there were a lot of – because one of my goals in Berlin was to get some modern German literature . Most of the books that I’ve read in German have all been translations so I thought it’s time that I read something that has originally been written in German. I’ve actually seen the movie a few years back, so I hope that the book is as good – if not better – as the movie.

haul_072014

Also in the end of May I received a review copy of The Jedi Doth Return from Quirk Books. I’ve already read and reviewed the series and I can truly say that though science fiction isn’t really my genre, I am happy that I read these books. Simply the inclusion of different references to Shakespeare’s works makes it worth the read. The covers for this series are beautiful as well as the books themselves – the surface of the hardcover books have been made to resemble worn leather and the endpapers have lovely colours.

IMG_7409 IMG_7386

After Berlin, I decided to focus more on reading books I already own as well as getting some library books read. The last three books have in fact all been acquired in the short period of two weeks. I received Silent House from my mother who had picked it up for travel reading for her trip to Czech Republic. After a few chapteres, she decided it wasn’t her cup of tea and asked if I would like to have it – of course I said yes. I don’t know much about the book itself but the author Orhan Pamuk won the Nobel Prize for Literature in 2006. Kiinalainen puutarha (eng. The Chinese Garden) I picked up from my summer cottage because I have read some praising reviews, and have wanted to get my hands on a copy.

IMG_7403

And finally, A Tale of Two Cities. I seem to accumulate more Dickens than I can read, but I’m staying positive that reading one Dickens a year will get help me conquer all of them – eventually. I actually spotted this book in a charity shop already in the beginning of May, but left it there because I knew I wouldn’t get to it anytime soon. Nevertheless, the fact that it was only 2 euros stayed in the back of my head. So imagine my surprise when I visit the same shop two months later and the book is still there – now only 1 euro. I’m a sucker for bargain classics.

That was it. Hopefully there won’t be another haul until September. Let me know in the comments which of the books you own or have read, and what you thought of them. Cheers!

4 thoughts on “May-July Book Haul

  1. I’ve had The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time on my shelves for more than 6 years now. I think I’m actually in the mood to read: I feel like it’s the right time (pun semi-intended). Tess of the d’Urbervilles is also on my TBR, but I will probably keep it for this fall or this winter. This is a book I want to read slowly :). Which Dickens’ novel have you read so far?
    Great haul, I hope you had a good time in Berlin ;).

    • Yes, I can definitely recommend The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time! So far I’ve read Little Dorrit and Bleak House, but I have David Copperfield and Barnaby Rudge waiting on my shelves. Berlin was amazing 🙂 I hope to go there soon again!

  2. Wow,so you read in German as well? So cool!
    You have some really nice books! I knew that Orhan Pamuk was a celebrated writer,but ignored that he won the Nobel Prize! I was also aware that he is the boyfriend of Booker-winning author Kiran Desai! I think his book will be really great.He is someone whose works I plan to dip in in the future!
    This Penguin edition of Thomas Hardy’s book is pretty rare nowadays.I think it is only available on the second-hand market! I once saw the collection of a guy who owns every book in that series,and I have to say that they look very good on the shelves! So this book truly is an excellent souvenir of your stay in Berlin! 😉
    As for The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time,I often saw it in recommendations on goodreads and bookdepository,but never bothered to check it out.I am very intrigued by this book with a weird name and will look forward to your thoughts about it!

    • Thank you for your kind comment!
      I read very little and very slowly in German, but i keep trying. I must admit I had never heard of Pamuk before, but based on a few articles I read, I’m slowly becoming more and more interested in reading his works.
      Yes, the orange Penguin edition of Tess is quite rare but my copy is also quite battered. The spine looks good, but I’ll have to be careful with the cover. Nevertheless, it is a great memento and I hope that I’ll enjoy the story 🙂

Leave a Reply

