Review: Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout (Lux #1)

EBOOK; 294 P.
ENTANGLED TEEN, 2012/2011
SOURCE: PURCHASED

Starting over sucks.

When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring…. until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something…unexpected happens.

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.

If I don’t kill him first, that is.

When asked what genres I read, I tend to say I read classics and literary fiction with a hint of YA. And this is the hint. YA paranormal romance isn’t my go-to genre, but I’ve heard a ton of praise as well as critique about the Lux series. Thus when I discovered that the first book in the series was free on Kindle, I decided to give it a try. I downloaded the Kindle app for my phone a few months ago to help me with reading longer classics (Moby-Dick to be precise) that are hard to carry around. This, however, was the first time that I read a book completely on my phone.

The story of Obsidian is quite straightforward: a new girl moves to a small town, the girl meets her neighbours who are gorgeous twins. The twin girl becomes her instant best friend whereas the boy is a jerk – but a hot jerk. However, there seems something different with the twins – they are “out of this world”. The YA trope is quite old, and it reminded me very much of Twilight. And not in a positive sense. However, what made the main character more interesting was that she had a book blog that kept referenced time and again in the story. Although the reading aspect of the said book blog seemed a bit shallow, the concept definitely drew me in.

The problem for me was that I didn’t get drawn into the story of Obsidian. The writing made the book an entertaining and compelling read, but I kept reading it with a more analytical mindset. Even though I do have a thing for snarky characters and bantering, in the end the failures of the book weighted more than the few instances in which I laughed out loud. For example, the way the sister became instantly best friends with the main character and then suddenly disappeared from the picture, forcing the main character to spend more time with the hot boy that she hates. The air between two characters is filled with sexual tension from the get-go, but it’s one of those love/hate relationships. I appreciated the fact that the book distinguishes lust from like and love, and after reading this book, I wasn’t even surprised to find out that Armentrout writes romance under the name J. Lynn.

The ending of the book truly left room for sequels, but I doubt I’ll continue with the series. Nevertheless, if you are fan of the genre, this is definitely written better than Twilight (although with more violence, cussing, and sexual tension).

2/5

Beautiful face. Beautiful body. Horrible attitude. It was the holy trinity of hot boys.

3 thoughts on “Review: Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout (Lux #1)

  1. It doesn’t seem to be the kind of book I would automatically go to. I am a bit prejudiced towards YA paranormal romance: it’s often cheesy, poorly written, and not that interesting. But maybe I haven’t read the good ones. The Lux series is very popular at the moment, and I didn’t know what it was about until I read your review… And I’m not more ready to read it ;).

    • Me neither. I did ponder on whether or not to write a review on this book because I don’t want to “hate” a book. I do understand why some readers love these books (Goodreads rating for this was 4.29), but I guess I wanted to share my not-so-bedazzled thoughts about it. Ah, the problems of writing a negative review!

  2. Haha,just by glancing at the title,I could tell it was a YA book!
    The premise of this book does not sound interesting to me either!

    On a side,I noticed you’re loving Tess of the d’Ubervilles! I can’t wait to see your review of the book – I’m just saying; I don’t want to hurry you!
    You might be the one who will finally make me read some Hardy! 😉

Leave a Reply

