August-September Book Haul

Hello, dear friends!
It’s time to share some pictures and stories about the new books on my nightstand. Before we get to the books themselves, I would like to apologize for the wrinkled sheets, as I did not have time to pull out new ones for the shoot 😀

Most of these books have been acquired in September as a result of getting back to university and being exposed to so many great books. Here’s the overview of the four books that I’ve acquired these past months. I know there are still two review copies coming in the mail, but they will be mentioned in later book hauls.

IMG_7460

Visiting a few charity shops back in August, I picked up Oscar Wilde’s Importance of Being Earnest and Other Plays. I read The Picture of Dorian Gray in May and fell in love with the way Wilde writes. Thus when I saw this edition for 1 euro, it didn’t take much time before I had gone to the register to pay for it. I’m really interested to read his plays and see if he really is as snarky and ironic as everyone praises him to be.

IMG_7428

As I have mentioned in a previous book haul, our university department has a book exchange shelf where you can donate your books and take others in exchange. I stopped by in the first week of September and picked up two very interesting books. First one is another Penguin edition with the orange spine – Anne BrontĂ«’s The Tenant of Wildefell Hall. My knowledge of the BrontĂ« sisters is bare, to say the least. I’ve only read Jane Eyre, though Wuthering Heights has been part of my collection for almost 4 years now. However, a lot of bloggers and booktubers were talking about this book in the summer, so my interest was piqued.

The other book that I picked up from the exchange shelf is The Hours by Michael Cunningham. The book tells the story of three women in three time periods: Virginia Woolf in 1920s, a young wife reading Mrs. Dalloway in 1940s, and Clarissa Vaughan in 1990s’ New York. This books is also one that has recently been talked about, but more than that, the premise sounds very intriguing. I read Mrs. Dalloway in March and because it left me a bit confused, I hope The Hours might help me to get a better sense of the original.

IMG_7440IMG_7443

And finally, Swedish crime fiction. Mord pĂ„ 31:a vĂ„ningen by Per Wahlöö is the first book in the Inspector Jensen series, and has also been translated into English under the title Murder on the Thirty-first Floor. The author is actually better known as the co-writer of Detective Martin Beck series. As I began my minor studies in Swedish this semester, I’ve been meaning to read more fiction in Swedish. I came upon this book in the library sales shelf, and because the description sounded interesting, I decided to go with it. My reading of Swedish crime fiction – and Nordic noir in general – is limited to Stieg Larsson’s Millennium trilogy, so I thought I might as well start with this one. However, if you’re interested to know more about Scandinavian crime fiction, you should check out this amazing blog called Nordic Noir Book Club.

Anyways, that was all the books! I cannot wait to get into these once I finished the ones that I’m currently reading – that is, Cranford by Elizabeth Gaskell and Storm of Swords by George R.R. Martin. Let me know  if you’ve read any of the books mentioned in this post and what you thought of them! x

3 thoughts on “August-September Book Haul

  1. Personally, I loved The Importance of Being Earnest; I’m picky when it comes to humor, and I was laughing out loud while reading it. I’d love to see a live adaptation. The Tenant of Wildfell is one of those books that I’m ashamed to say I haven’t read, especially since I studied nineteenth-century literature. I’ve read and enjoyed other novels by the BrontĂ«s (Jane Eyre, Wuthering Heights, Villette), but I’ve just never gotten around to it somehow.

    • I plan on adding Importance of Being Earnest to my next months TBR – very excited about that! I believe that out of the BrontĂ« sisters Anne is the least read, although Tenant of Wildefell Hall was apparently a phenomenal success at the time of its publication.

      • I think you’re definitely right about the BrontĂ«s–my understanding has always been that Tenant presents a much less romanticized view of relationships (although, personally, I’ve always found Wuthering Heights pretty gritty), so I wonder if that’s why it’s not read quite as often. It’s interesting that it was really successful at the time, though–I hadn’t known that!

Leave a Reply

