September Reads and October Plans

A month has passed again, which means it’s time to ramble about my readings in September. To be frank, there wasn’t much reading in September. I read 5 books in the month – one of which is a graphic novel that took me about 35 minutes – plus about 200 pages of Storm of Swords, which I started in late July. So yeah, not much has happened since then. Starting a new semester at uni has kept me super busy, and I think I might have bitten off more than I can chew. Most of the reading I’ve managed to do during the weekends, but since I’ve thoroughly enjoyed those, I bear no grudge. After all, it is not about the quantity of books that we read, but the quality of them.

On the blog, I’ve had many exciting things. In the beginning of the month I posted about the small Cranford readalong that I did together with Bookwormchatterbox and Turning Pages and Tea – it was such fun, and I really enjoyed talking about the book on Twitter. Thanks also to Alexandra for joining us! In September I also did my August-September book haul, wrote about Finnish authors, and shared Tom Gauld’s Banned Books illustration. In addition, I participated in my first ever Bloggiesta, and ended up changing the look of my blog quite a bit. I’m slowly becoming more and more comfortable with the new banner and the colours, and I’m happy I took the plunge.

Books read in September:

920607Early in the month, I visited the library and finding The Arrival by Shaun Tan on the shelf, sat down and read it. The Arrival is a graphic novel with beautiful illustrations, but no words. It is an interesting concept that works rather well. You don’t always need words to communicate, and one single picture can tell a story in itself. However, for me the book lacked the depth that words can sometimes bring to stories. The topic of immigration is touching, and the illustrations add something magical to the experience of “reading” it. I recommend you go read Bibliosa’s review as she has also included some of the illustrations!

Some of you might have also noticed that for months I’ve had Pamela by Samuel Richardson on my Currently reading slot. I began reading the public domain version on my phone somewhere in April/May, but since I haven’t touched the book in over three months, I decided I’m going to put it down and try again later. It is an epistolary novel written in 1740, so it isn’t the easiest piece of literature but I still hope to read it one day.

Books in my October TBR:

  • Storm of Swords by George R.R. Martin (currently-reading)
  • Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë
  • The Importance of Being Earnest by Oscar Wilde
  • The Hours by Michael Cunningham
  • Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
  • DJ-kirja by Matti Nives & Iina Esko

More excitement in October! October 5th marks my first blogoversary in WordPress! Sometimes it’s hard to believe that it has been a year since I started blogging, but at the same time I am very grateful and happy for all the lovely people I’ve met through this blog. To celebrate this, I will do a small giveaway, so keep your eyes and ears open for that. Another exciting news is that Helsinki Book Fair is happening in October, and this year I’ll be attending as a accredited blogger – awesome!

My main reading plans for October are to finish Storm of Swords, because so far it has been really good. Also, I want to knock off Wuthering Heights from my TBR and I think October might be the right time for this book. As I haven’t read any plays in a while, I decided to pick Wilde’s Importance of Being Earnest, which I have heard great things about. Another book that was featured in my haul post was The Hours, which I am very excited about. I got recently a small gift card to an online bookstore, and since I’ve been eyeing Fangirl for almost a year now, I decided it was time. The book should arrive in the mail in October, and I will probably start reading it the moment that I receive it. And lastly, I have DJ-kirja (eng. The DJ Book) which is a non-fiction book about the Finnish DJ culture. I got sent this book for review by one of the authors, and I’m very intrigued by the topic. I haven’t read a lot of non-fiction this year, so I think this might be a good addition to the TBR.

What did you read in September and what are you planning to read in October? Let me know in the comments! Lots of love, x

7 thoughts on “September Reads and October Plans

  1. I really want to read The Arrival.For many it is considered to be one of the best graphic novels despite having no words at all.
    And Wuthering Heights! Whew.It seems like a very daunting book.I will be looking forward to seeing your thoughts about it – I wonder if Emily Bronte’s writing will be like her sister Charlotte’s…

    And wow one year has already elapsed since you started your blog? I’m glad as well that I met you,a Finnish girl with an impressive reading culture! You always happen to read books I apprehend and very often (if not always!) I find your reviews spot on! 🙂

    And yay for the new theme! 😀

    • I still recommend reading The Arrival because it has sparked so much love.
      Wuthering Heights, yikes. I’ve tried reading it once (stopped after 5 pages), and I did put it once on my TBR but never got round to picking it up. The reason why I hear it’s demanding is because the timeline isn’t stable; instead, it jumps from present to past all the time. But as it is the favourite for many readers whose tastes are similar to mine, I want to give it a proper try.
      Thank you! It’s people like you that have made this year a spectacular one and inspired me to keep challenging myself to read more classics 😀

  2. I loved the illustrations in The Arrival. They’re so beautiful! Thanks for the shoutout 🙂
    Congrats on your blogoversay. I just hit my one year mark last month, and I know just how you feel.

    I’m planning on finishing up The Final Empire Series, and who knows what else. Hope you have a great reading month 🙂

    • Thank you for your comment!
      I’ve seen a lot of positive comments about the Final Empire series, but just haven’t been in the mood for another high fantasy series. However, I still hope to read your thoughts about it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

