Helsinki Book Fair 23.-26.10. + giveaway winner

Helsinki Book Fair 23-26 October 2014 at Messukeskus Helsinki, Expo and Convention Centre

Hello lovely readers and all book lovers,

This is just a quick note to you to tell you that I am heading off to the Helsinki Book Fair 2014 that’s happening from 23rd till 26th October in Helsinki, Finland. I will be attending the event on Friday and Saturday, and hopefully will remember to take some snapshots to share with you guys. There are a lot of interesting talks and author interviews happening on each of the event days and I’ll try to fit in as many as I can. And of course, there will be a lot of book shopping. I attended the event for the first time last year and although I was there only one day, I had such a blast! This year I decided to do two days so that I can attend more talks and enjoy the general feeling of the event without constantly running from one place to another. We’ll see how it goes…

Aside from book shopping, I’m very excited to hear the talk on Tove Jansson and the new book, Letters from Tove edited by Boel Werstin and Helen Svensson. There will also be a panel discussions on the future of literary translation, e-readers, literature’s role in society, and many more that I hope to catch. This year the Guest of Honor in the book fair is Italy, so I’m very much intrigued to discover what Italian literature has to offer. Other interesting authors attending the book fair include Alan Bradley, Don Rosa, Sara Blaedel, etc.

I probably won’t have time to post in between the two days as I’m also visiting a friend in Helsinki, but most likely there’ll be a lot of tweets and crappy phone pictures happening on the sidebar Twitter feed thingamajig. I’ll do a proper event wrap-up and book haul post next week, I promise.


On a completely different note, my blogoversary giveaway ended on Sunday. There were so many lovely comments on that post, and I’m happy to announce that the prize, The Summer Book by Tove Jansson, goes to the lovely Madame Bibi Lophile. Congratulations! I hope you enjoy the book 🙂 Thank you also to everyone else who participated!

4 thoughts on “Helsinki Book Fair 23.-26.10. + giveaway winner

    • You should try them, book fairs are so much fun! I know, Alan Bradley would have been awesome, but unfortunately he’ll be there only on Sunday when I can’t make it :/

Leave a Reply

