Review: Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

EBOOK; 512 P.
PHOENIX, 2012
SOURCE: PURCHASED

What are you thinking, Amy? The question I’ve asked most often during our marriage, if not out loud, if not to the person who could answer. I suppose these questions stormcloud over every marriage: What are you thinking? How are you feeling? Who are you? What have we done to each other? What will we do?

Just how well can you ever know the person you love? This is the question that Nick Dunne must ask himself on the morning of his fifth wedding anniversary, when his wife Amy suddenly disappears. The police immediately suspect Nick. Amy’s friends reveal that she was afraid of him, that she kept secrets from him. He swears it isn’t true. A police examination of his computer shows strange searches. He says they aren’t his. And then there are the persistent calls on his mobile phone. So what really did happen to Nick’s beautiful wife? And what was in that half-wrapped box left so casually on their marital bed? In this novel, marriage truly is the art of war…

Unless you’ve been living under a rock these past months, you should have heard about Gone Girl. Everyone was reading it, everyone went to see the film that was released in October, and everyone raved about how dark and twisted it was. Did I buy into the hype? I’d be lying if I said I didn’t.

Winner of the Goodreads Mystery & Thriller Award in 2012, Gone Girl is a thriller that centers around Amy and Nick, a married couple living in a small-town Missouri. In the morning of their fifth anniversary Amy disappears and as the investigation for a missing person proceeds, surprising information begins to surface, indicating a darker shade in the otherwise happy marriage. The story is told in dual perspective, from the point of views of both Nick and Amy, but their facts don’t quite seem to fit. The reader is left guessing what is hidden underneath the surface and how well do two people truly know each other.

The story of Gone Girl examines at the psychology of relationships, veiled in the mystery of Amy’s disappearance. The story examines not only Nick and Amy’s relationship, but also brother-sister relationships as well as parent-child relationships. The ordinary seeming characters hold dark secrets, and there are many twists in the plot. Overall, the book, however, left me underwhelmed. Maybe it is a case of too much hype that had me expecting more – more mysterious, darker, truly thought-provoking. Nevertheless, Gillian Flynn writes well and the characters felt real. Her small details placed the story well into our time and made Gone Girl an enjoyable read. I’d recommend Gone Girl to readers who enjoy thrillers with the spice of psychology.

3/5

It’s a very difficult era in which to be a person, just a real, actual person, instead of a collection of personality traits selected from an endless Automat of characters.

5 thoughts on “Review: Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

  1. “Overall, the book, however, left me underwhelmed.” Agreed. I loved finding out about the twist at the halfway point. I thought the author’s trick was ingenious. After that, the story just became… bland. The ending had no punch. I just felt like I no longer cared, at the end of the novel.

    Thanks for sharing.

    (Unlike most people, I didn’t care much for the movie. The lead actress’s performance was lackluster. I have no clue why people are raving about her portrayal of Amy.)

    • Thank you for your comment! I felt the same way about the halfway twist. After that, the story began losing its credibility. But I think I’ll still watch the film, just for comparison.

  2. I bought this when it first started getting attention and then the more attention it got, the less keen I was to read it (very perverse I know). Now I’ve seen the film I’m even more reluctant to read the actual book.

Leave a Reply

