Update of sorts

midterms1

Gosh, I’m not really good at this consistent blogging thing. Midterms always manage to surprise me with their intensity, and my blogging backlist just keeps growing and growing. This post is just to let you know that I’m working on writing reviews for the last 5 books I’ve read and that they should be appearing in your blog feeds during the next few weeks. In the meanwhile, I’ll be writing those research papers and revising for exams. Hopefully I’ll be in the clearΒ by the end of March and will have some more time and energy to devote to blogging. x

10 thoughts on “Update of sorts

  1. I totally understand! I’m stuck on Quiet and am behind my schedule by 1 book!
    I’m still at the beginning of the part 2,so I guess that by the time I finish the book,I will be further behind schedule.Anyway,like you,I’ll try to catch up during holidays.

    You seem very busy,so I wish you good luck for everything. πŸ™‚

    • Count me in on holiday binge-reading πŸ˜€
      How is Quiet by the way (aside from the joke about Finns in the beginning)? I think non-fiction books (especially those that hold a lot of factual information) as best read in short sections and between other books. But from what I’ve heard of Quiet, it seems more like the narrative type non-fiction book, correct?

      PS. I finally, finally checked out a collection of Alice Munro’s short stories from the library. Don’t know if I’ll get to it in March, but if not, it’s definitely going on my April TBR πŸ™‚

      • Quiet is superb.Even this word doesn’t do it justice enough.

        It really helped me.Since I was a child,people told me I had a problem because I was introverted.I almost felt persecuted because I did things differently than other kids,like staying at home instead of playing football in the burning sun or not wanting to dance,etc.I looked even worse in their eyes,as my father is a great extrovert.

        Until some weeks ago,I thought I had a problem and was constantly unhappy with myself.But then I read this book,and it taught me so much,even if I’m only in the middle.

        What I like from this book is that Susan Cain doesn’t take the role of a guru like a Robin Sharma.She doesn’t lecture you.Instead the book is written in a narrative way and we follow her as she meets researchers and psychologists and visits places like Harvard Business Schools or chaplains to see how introverts are regarded.

        She took 7 years to write Quiet and you can feel that; every page is imbibed with a wealth of information! Everything she ‘says’ is supported by strong evidence!

        I know what I’m saying is pretty vague,but anyway,when I’ll finish the book,I’ll write a full post about how this book helped me and say more about how I was regarded throughout all my life. πŸ™‚

  2. SAME SITUATION! Good luck with everything πŸ™‚
    Blogging is hmmm like day job really, proper blogging takes so much time… Anyways haha you’re doing great, looking forward to your book reviews πŸ™‚

    • Thank you! And good luck to you too! It’s strange how in some months blogging just comes naturally, and some months you just stare at the screen hopelessly. Creative juices flowing and all that πŸ™‚

  3. Good luck with your studying! There is no need to rush or get nervous over posting at regular intervals – blogging takes a lot of time, so it’s better when you do it for your own pleasure as well πŸ™‚

    • Thank you! And I definitely agree; blogging is a hobby, so it shouldn’t become a chore. And sometimes it might even be a good thing to take breaks so that there’s more energy and ideas once you get back πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

