Bout of Books 14

Bout of Books

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, August 17th and runs through Sunday, August 23rd in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 14 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. 

– From the Bout of Books team

It’s here again – Bout of Books! Bout of Books is a readathon that takes place from Monday the 17th of August to Sunday the 23rd of August, and the goal is to read as much as you can during that time. I’m took part in Bout of Books 12 in January, but this is the first time that I’m able to take part in the reading fun also in the autumn! As of now, I’m currently reading – and have been reading for two whole weeks – The Egyptian by Mika Waltari, and if all goes to plan, I’ll be able to finish it at the beginning of the readathon. After that I plan to devour as many books from my 20 Books of Summer list as possible, but also squeeze in some poetry as one of my 2015 goals is to read more poetry. I have four poetry collections checked out from the library, each very different from one another, so I hope to dip into some of them during the week. We’ll see how it goes.

My reading options for Bout of Books 14 are:

BoB14

  • The Silkworm by Robert Galbraith
  • The Loved One by Evelyn Waugh
  • Hägring 38 by Kjell Westö (Swedish)
  • Atonement by Ian McEwan
  • The Bees by Carol Ann Duffy
  • Aniara: An Epic Science Fiction Poem by Harry Martinson (Swedish)
  • Rakkaus on ruma sana – Valitut laulutekstit by Ismo Alanko (Finnish)
  • Pomes All Sizes by Jack Kerouac

Also currently on my nightstand are The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern; The Winter Book by Tove Jansson; Ant Farm and Other Desperate Situations by Simon Rich; A Storm of Swords by George R.R. Martin; The Tenant of Wilderfell Hall by Anne Brontë; and Kiinalainen puutarha by Markus Nummi.

As you can see, there’s really no lack of option – I just need more time to read! Hence my goal for the readathon is simply to read every day – and if I get super into it, maybe surpass 1,000 pages? I read almost 700 pages during the last Bout of Books, and before that I got slightly over 800, so there’s room for improvement. In addition to reading every day, I plan to write small update posts for each day of the readathon, so if you’re interested to see how my Bout of Books is going, you can follow my progress through those. I’ll also be tweeting about the books that I read during the week, so be sure to check my Twitter (@bookarino).

Are you participating in the Bout of Books 14 and if so, what are you reading? Let me know in the comments and share your post!

Happy reading! x

13 thoughts on “Bout of Books 14

    • I’ve been saving it up for the right moment, because I’ve heard nothing but great things about Atonement and Ian McEwan. Hopefully I’ll enjoy it as much as you did!

    • Oh no 😦 But luckily there’s always other readathons, and I think that the next BoB might be in November? EDIT: Sorry, didn’t check this one before posting. The next Bout of Books is in January, and the readathon is hosted three times during the year: January, May, and August.
      Thank you for your good-luck-wishes!

  1. You’ve got a good TBR to select from during #boutofbooks. Atonement has been on my shelves for ages. I love the cover of Night Circus but I didn’t manage to finish it. Just wasn’t my time. I was enjoying the story. I haven’t prepared by TBR & it’s Monday! better get into it. Good Luck!

    • Thank you! I’ve heard great things about Night Circus, and I think it might be the sort of book that works well for a readathon. So if at all possible, I’ll try it out during the week.
      Good luck with Bout of Books!

Leave a Reply

