September Plans

Hello again, fellow readers!

Yesterday, I wrapped up my summer reading, so today it’s all about what I’ll be reading next. The morning air is getting that slow-settling chill and the leaves in trees are turning first yellow and then red. This September I’m also starting my final year at university, which is a bit sad but at the same time I’m super excited about some of my final courses. My free reading time will probably be cut to half of what it was during the summer, so don’t expect me to reach the same 9–10 books a month pace that I had during the past months.

Books on my September TBR:

  • The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern (currently reading)
  • Pomes All Sizes by Jack Kerouac
  • Ariana: An Epic Science Fiction Poem by Harry Martinson (Swedish)
  • The Tenant of Wilderfell Hall by Anne Brontë
  • Romeo and Juliet by William Shakespeare
  • Hamlet by William Shakespeare
  • King Lear by William Shakespeare
  • The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne
  • Slaughterhouse-Five by Kurt Vonnegut
  • The Brothers by Asko Salhberg
  • The Black Tongue by Marko Hautala

My September TBR is almost 100% library books, with the exception of The Tenant of Wilderfell Hall, which got left over from my 20 Books of Summer list, and The Black Tongue, which is an ARC of the English translation of a popular Finnish crime novel that’s coming out in November. I’m currently reading The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern, which has been on my radar for quite some time. I can’t say too much about it at this point, but I’m definitely intrigued by it. Unlike my summer list, which had more than few books that were over 500 pages, in September I have a lot of poetry and plays, which are quite short compared to novels. I have no idea what to expect from the two poetry collections, but from the first pages that I read in the library, Jack Kerouac’s poetry is curious. Ariana was recommended to me by one of my friends who is an avid science fiction reader – according to him, this Nobel Prize winner is among the best. As for the three Shakespeare plays, I’m pretty sure I’ll end up reading either just one or two of the plays, but it’s good to have variety, right?

The Scarlet Letter and Slaughterhouse-Five might seem like they have nothing in common, but they are both texts that I’ve heard so so much about that it almost feels like I’ve read them – which is why I really do need to read them. And finally we have yet another Finnish novel translated by Emily and Fleur Jeremiah and published by Peirene Press – The Brothers. I’ve loved the previous two Peirene Press novels that I’ve read – White Hunger and Mr Darwin’s Gardener (both by Finnish authors) – so I trust that The Brothers to be wonderful. Peirene Press is quickly becoming one of my favourite indie publishers, and that’s just based on their selection of Finnish fiction!

That’ll be all for my TBR. I’ll keep on trying to catch up with reviews, and I hope to share my summer book haul with you soon! So many new and exciting books. In the meantime, let me know what you’re looking forward to reading this month! Cheers! x

12 thoughts on “September Plans

    • I’m only about 30 pages in, so I can’t say too much about the whole book, but it definitely has an intriguing beginning. It’s also blurbed by Audrey Niffenegger, so my expectations are on the rise.

    • I’ve been meaning to read Slaugtherhouse-Five for almost four years now, but I’ve got round to it. I’m very much a mood reader when it comes to Shakespeare, and the beginning of autumn is definitely a good time to read him. Maybe it’s the gloom?

  1. I’m an admirer of Pereine too. As for your reading choices, I just got back from Dresden where I thought it would be appropriate to read Saughterhouse 5. An odd book, not easy to read because the narrative isn’t straight forward but interesting.

    • Oh yes, Dresden would have been very fitting for Slaughterhouse-Five – almost too much so. And thank you for your insights on the book; I’ll make sure to allot enough time for its quirks 🙂

  2. Slaughterhouse Five is no easy book to love.
    I knew it would be about war,but there is something completely unexpected and weird that makes half of the book.I guess that’s why you’ll see some people here and there not linking the story.
    Ultimately I found the book very poignant and sad.
    I’ve also read Hamlet.It’s not bad at all.Some say Macbeth is better,which I haven’t yet read; Macbeth and Hamlet are regarded as the best plays written by Shakespeare…

    • From what I’ve heard of Slaughterhouse-Five, weird is definitely something to expect 🙂
      And although I cannot say for Hamlet yet, Macbeth is definitely fascinating. I think you should read it and see for yourself how the two compare!

  3. I’m rereading The Night Circus this fall. I’m crazy about that book! I hope you like it as much as I did, and you have other wonderful reads in your list that I’d like to get to some day as well. Particularly The Tenant of Wildfell Hall.

Leave a Reply

