December Reads and January Plans

Hello lovely readers!


I hope your New Year’s Eve was wonderful, whether you were partying together or spending a lovely evening with a good book. I can’t believe it’s already 2016! December was been delightfully bookish because of the Christmas break. I’ve squeezed in 7 books and 3 graphic novels, bringing my yearly total to 98 books. My favourite of series of the month is definitely The Sandman graphic novel series, volume 2 perhaps my favourite of the three. As for novels, Celeste Ng’s Everything I Never Told You touched me deeply and made me reflect on race and prejudice. Hopefully the new year will also bring tons of similarly thought-provoking books to explore!

Books read in December:

  • The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón
  • Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng
  • Scarlet (Lunar Chronicles #2) by Marissa Meyer
  • The Sandman, vol. 2 by Neil Gaiman
  • The Sandman, vol. 3 by Neil Gaiman
  • The Sandman, vol. 4 by Neil Gaiman
  • The Signature of Everything by Elizabeth Gilbert
  • The Obituary Society by Jessica L. Randall
  • The Blue Room by Hanne Orstavik
  • The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton

I will review the rest of the books – eventually – but not this one: The Obituary Society by Jessica L. Randall is a fluffy romance mystery novel with paranormal elements. I was browsing my Kindle in preparation for the holiday travelling and discovered it from my collection of unread ebooks. I honestly can’t even remember the reason why I’ve purchased it, but I believe it must be down to the intriguing title. It follows a 23-year-old young woman moving to a small town where her recently departed grandfather originated from and quickly becoming entangled with the local affairs and mysteries behind her grandfather. Despite the intriguing name, the novel left much to to be desired. The romance part was lacklustre, the mystery underdeveloped and the paranormal just plain weird. There are some clear inconsistencies in the writing, and the story overall would have needed a wee bit of more editing. All in all the book is OK, but not something I would recommend to anyone. 2/5

In January I want to kickstart my year of reading the books I already own. I acquired over 50 books in 2015 and about 30 of them are still unread. I’ve discovered that dedicating one month to reading the TBR usually helps in getting started in cutting the omniously large TBR. Moreover, it’s too easy to forget the treasures stored on the shelves and the reasons why I felt the urge to read that particular book. I don’t want to buy books for the sake of buying, but for the stories that they bring. Hence I’ve listed bellow 15 books I’ve acquired in 2015 but didn’t get round to reading.

Books to read in January:

  • A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara (currently reading)
  • Jokapäiväinen elämämme by Riikka Pelo (Finnish)
  • 1Q84 by Haruki Murakami
  • Aika sattuu – Vironhaikuja by Asko Künnap, Karl Martin Sinijärv & Jürgen Rooste (Estonian haiku poetry)
  • Us by David Nicholls
  • The Master and the Margarita by Mikhail Bulgakov
  • Sielut kulkevat sateessa by Pasi Ilmari Jääskeläinen (Finnish)
  • Hägring 38 by Kjell Westö (Swedish)
  • A Visit from the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan
  • The Trial by Franz Kafka (German)
  • The Road by Cormac McCarthy
  • Essays by George Orwell
  • Down the Rabbit Hole by Juan Pablo Villalobos
  • Ant Farm and Other Desperate Situations by Simo Rich
  • A Constellation of Vital Phenomena by Anthony Marra

Bout of BooksThe list features a mixture of languages, genres, time periods and formats (some of these are ebooks), so it should be an interesting month. Some of these I’m more eager to start with than the others, but only time will tell which books will end up in my January wrap-up. In addition, I hope to focus more on writing blog posts in January – both reviews and 2015 recaps. I still have last year’s stats and goals to go over as well as the goals for 2016. The annual Bout of Books will also take place from January 4th to January 11th, and I’m determined to participate once again! I don’t have big goals, just to read a bit every day, but I will try to write some short daily updates here. Lots to do, so hang tight! x

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, January 4th and runs through Sunday, January 10th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 15 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team

Leave a Reply

